Views expressed by News/Blog authors are solely that of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Association of Fundraising Professionals New York City Chapter. Links Disclaimer


AFP-NYC Welcomes New Leadership

The New York City Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP-NYC) has elected new leadership to take office on January 1, 2018. Ascending to the office of president is Gary Laermer, Sr. VP and Chief Development Officer, YMCA of Greater New York.  Susan Shattuck, who served the chapter for 2 years, transitions to Immediate Past President. Succeeding Laermer as president-elect is Steven G. Jacobson, Principal of Jacobson Consulting Applications, Inc. Craig Shelley, VP of Orr Associates, Inc. takes office as treasurer, while Jill Scibilia, VP, Philanthropy & External Relations with the Girl Scouts of Greater New York  continues as Secretary.

AFP-NYC also welcomes seven new Directors to the Board, elected by membership referendum to one-year terms starting January 1. They are: 

  • Veronica Bainbridge, Director of Development, Madison Square Park Conservancy
  • Mindee Barham, Vice President of Development, Grameen America
  • Leah Heister, Senior Director, CCS Fundraising
  • Carmel Napolitano, Senior Consultant, DRG Executive Search
  • Toby Pearce, Director of Development, Hudson River Park Friends
  • Michael Rodgers, Vice President, Development and Philanthropy, New York Road Runners
  • Susan Shapiro, President, shapiroassociates

In addition, the Chapter is welcoming new staff leadership as executive director Holly Koenig steps down. Chapter associate director Alexandra Cantor Owens will take over as Executive Director on January 1. Owens is a senior account executive with Kellen. Koenig, a VP at Kellen, remains on the team for strategic counsel.

The new leadership joins current Board of Directors members Immediate Past President Susan Shattuck, Co-Founder and Principal, Special Events Unlimited; Gregory Boroff, Chief External Relations Officer, City Harvest; Richard Brown, RB Consulting; JuWon Choi, Director of Learning, Association of Junior Leagues International, Inc.; Hank Goldstein, President,  The Oram Group, Inc.; Edward Griffin, Director of Alumni Relations, Trinity School; Margaret Holman, President, Holman Consulting, Inc.; Vikki Jones, Planned Giving Officer, Weill Cornell Medicine; Trish Lambe, Associate Vice President for Special Events, The New York Botanical Garden; Brigid Lang, Executive Director, Grace Institute; John Linder, Consultant; Richard Martin, Director of Development, Ronald McDonald House of NY, Inc.; Robin Merle; Jennifer Moore, Director of Institutional Advancement, Young Audiences New York; Sarah Nannery, Director of Development, Goodwill Industries of Greater New York and Northern New Jersey; Denise Nelson, Chief Development and Communications Officer, FPWA; Sunil Oommen, Senior Director of Development, Human Rights First; Michael Ostroff, Founder and President, The Ostroff Group, Inc.; Poonam Prasad, Founder and President, Prasad Consulting & Research; Nancy Raybin, Senior Consultant & Principal, Marts & Lundy; Andrea Schwartz, President, ADS Creative & Mailing; Cathy Sharp, Director of Development, Care for the Homeless; Arik Thormahlen; Kerry Watterson, Senior Director of Development, Year Up; Honorary Directors, Mark Hefter, Associate Vice President of Planned Giving, American Technion Society and Penny Stoil, Founder and Director Project Plus, Inc.

Theme picker